Well, not really Wine of the Month – which carries the rubric “an easily obtainable wine that’s had a recommendation somewhere in a National newspaper”.  However as I’m in France – working hard at sampling Sancerre, Menetou-Salon and Chablis – I though a different tack required. So a wine not from that distinguished list of Appellations that I’ve been mainly concerned with. But the best wine I’ve drunk (rather than just tasted) on this sejour…..

Mailly Grand Cru Brut Rosé Champagne

DSCF0479
I’ve drunk this before, I confess, and it constitutes my favourite Rosé Champagne (I rate it above Billecart-Salmon, and Laurent Perrier Rosé – both of which are fab, and also the reference, Moët… ).

It has a lovely mousse, a nose of raspberries and a lively attack of sharp fruit, giving more grip and length than most Rosé. The acidity has raspberry too, a herbal hint and the finish shows just a slight touch of bitter tannin. It’s a satisfying package, combining effervescent frivolity and serious vinous qualities. It would work well with most hors d’oeuvres and even a fruity dessert, but I drank it with a complex chicken salad dish with beetroot and some spicy elements and it was a revelation, opening flavours in itself to echo the food. It would cope with many spicy dishes well, I believe.

Anyway this is Euro 32 at the producer and a bit more from Berry Bros., but on high days and holidays……

Back in England, and back to normal soon… Meanwhile back to work…..

